High School is Not Coy

Had we but world enough and time,
This homework would not be a crime.
Due to report cards’ persuasion,
I will learn of this equation.
We’ll learn about the Ganges’ side
And the pollution in its tide.
Natural disturbances would
Be caused by an earthquake or flood,
And you should, if you please, refuse
To do this even though it’s due.
The length of my essay should grow;
Procrastination makes it slow.
A hundred years should go to praise
My eyes, would on my laptop gaze;
This homework makes me rather stressed,
But after this page, I can rest.
This lab report has many parts,
But I must appear to be smart.
So that I can go to college,
To increase my breadth of knowledge.

But at my back I always hear
Time’s winged chariot hurrying near;
Though it’s close to its finale,
High school seemed an eternity.
This sadness shall no more be found;
And no more scribbling pencil sound.
No sob echoes that sound like death.
Just the thought makes me short of breath.
Graduation’s a gorgeous bride,
One which we must one day abide.

Now therefore, while the 12th grade hue
Sits on our skin like morning dew,
While our hurting souls continue
With ev’ry college interview,
Please let us have fun while we may,
To hang out with our friends and baes.
So that it does not end in strife,
These “best” four years of all our lives:
So, I want to make our sun run,
So that high school can just be done.

Leave a Reply

