Relocation

The number of people I’ve seen in my days,
The sorrow that hits me as I go away.
The cities I’ve lived in and terribly miss,
The darkness that swallows me like an abyss.
One day I say “Hello!”, the next day “Goodbye”.
When asked how I’m doing, I often must lie.
To leave so many that I love in one go,
I must bring my treasured memories in tow,
To keep it from simply becoming a dream,
Or else they might spill, pouring out from the seam.

I feel like a criminal, trying to flee,
Eternally running, so others can’t see.
That I’m isolated in this massive crowd,
I’m silent, but this place is extremely loud.

I want to get out,
I want to escape,
But I know that, for now, I can’t leave this place.

Leave a Reply

