To A Coy Dog, Toffee

To My Coy Dog, Toffee

Had we but world enough and time,
This coyness, Toffee, were no crime.
We would wander, and think which way
To run, and pass our long love’s day.
You by the tall, green trees in the park
and I trailing behind as you bark,
To which I smile fondly. I would
Love you for as long as I possibly could,
And you should, if you please, stay
Till the end of my days, I pray.
My extreme love should grow
Brighter than the best empires glow;
An hundred years should go to praise
Your loyalty and unwavering gaze;
Two hundred to adore your brown fur coat,
Such beauty that I cannot note;
An age at least to every part,
And the last age should show your heart.
For, Toffee, you deserve the best
Nor would I love you any less.

But at my back I just now hear,
My mother’s nagging drawing near.
And yonder all before us lie
Our violent screams and haunted cries.
Your cuteness will no more be found
As I laid with you, on the ground.
You always run around every day,
But after 4 months I hope you’ll stay,
And continue to run and play
Even after I leave in May.

Now therefore, the brown-yellow hue
sits on your fur like morning dew,
And while your willing kiss transpires,
At every pore our bond continues to fire,
Now let us enjoy our time as we may,
Running around and playing by the bay.
But still, at once, our time devour
The beautiful bond in one hour.
Let me embrace you with all of my love,
Giving so much, like nothing above.
Time tears our pleasures with rough strife
Through the iron gates of life:
And though we cannot make time stand still,
We’ll stand by each other for as long as we will.

Leave a Reply

