To A Coy Foodie by Jeffrey Ding He

To A Coy Foodie

Had we but world enough and time,
This coyness, foodie, were no crime.
We would sit down, and think which food
To eat depending on your mood.
While you’d look up the newest trends
And seek suggestions from your friends,
I’d stay by you for endless days
And aid you with your eating craze.
A hundred years would go to Yelp,
In which I’d read reviews for help.
Two hundred to food magazines,
And thirty thousand to more things.
But at my back I always hear
Time’s wingèd chariot hurrying near;
I wish it weren’t a problem but
My stomach’s growling just won’t shut.
So while we haven’t starved to death,
Let’s clear our minds and take a breath.
There’s many options we can choose
But not much room for us to lose.
The creamy soup, the crispy chips,
I’d really like those on my lips.
We have to get ourselves some food,
Or else don’t blame me if I’m rude.

Leave a Reply

