To My Coy Admissions Rep

Had we but world enough and time,

This coyness, rep, were no crime.

I would sit down, hours without end

To write, being nervous to click send.

Thou read my essay you must give heed,

As I convince you I’m worth the read

Waiting is the worst part. I would

Be joyful for an email if you could,

And you should, if you please, let me

Into your university.

My desire to get in should grow,

Vaster than empires you should know;

A hundred years should go to praise

That my writing will amaze;

Two hundred to standardized tests,

But thirty thousand to the rest;

I hope you love my application

As much as I love your institution.

For, dear admissions rep, you bear,

My future in your hands somewhere.

But at my back I always hear

The decision day hurrying near;

Accepted, deferred, denied

At least I can say that I tried.

If I’m denied I will be mature

Though it’ll be the funeral for my future.

However if you do accept me

I will be filled with joy and glee,

And that day will be memorable,

And the decision to come is inevitable;

The school’s a fine and perfect place,

That none others could replace.

Now therefore, while the constant stress

Results in me looking like a mess,

And while thy look through hundreds of apps

Mine could be one that stands out perhaps,

Now let me be patient and not glum,

I have no control over what’s to come,

Rather I will hope for the best

Than languish in worry without rest.

Let me roll all my ambition and all

My excitement up into one ball,

And let it be a stepping stool

Through the gates of your school:

Thus, though I need not persuade thee

Yet I trust we are meant to be.

Leave a Reply

